Your Public Utility

Posted Tuesday, February 8, 2022

Do you know how your public utility district operates? Three commissioners, elected by the residents of Skagit County, govern Skagit PUD — Andrew Miller, Joe Lindquist, and Germaine Kornegay. Each serves six-year terms on a nonpartisan basis.

The PUD Commissioners establish policy, approve budgets and expenditures, establish rates for services, retain the utility management, and provide oversight of the utility. PUDs are self-regulated and, as such, are not regulated by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission. Water service is provided on a non-profit basis, reflecting the actual cost of service.

As with any decision before the board, citizens have numerous opportunities to comment on the utility’s actions. As elected commissioners, they ensure that provided services are financially feasible and in the customer’s best interests.

As a Skagit PUD customer-owner, you can voice questions or concerns during every commission meeting. The PUD holds open public meetings on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month at 4:30 p.m., where members of the public can observe and participate in decisions made by the board. The public may attend in person or via Zoom. Meeting agenda packets, audio recordings, and minutes are available on our website.