Board of Commissioners

Skagit PUD is governed by three commissioners elected by the residents of Skagit County and serve six-year terms on a nonpartisan basis.

Public Process

The PUD Commissioners establish policy, approve budgets and expenditures, establish rates for services, retain the utility management, and provide oversight of the utility. PUDs are self-regulated and, as such, are not regulated by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission. Water service is provided on a non-profit basis, reflecting the actual cost of service.

As with any decision before the Board, citizens have numerous opportunities to comment on actions concerning the utility. As elected commissioners, they have a responsibility to ensure that provided services are financially feasible and in the customer's best interests.